Product Catalog :: PRODUCT DETAILS

Manfred Mann The Manfred Mann Album (180 gram vinyl)

   Artist: Manfred Mann
Label: Sundazed
Orig. Released: 1964
Catalog No.: LPSUND5451
Condition: Sealed-Reissue
Format: LP (1.3)

Retail Price: $ 19.98 (2 available)
add to cart

Manfred Mann’s 1964 U.S. debut The Manfred Mann Album is widely regarded as one of the greatest albums of the British Invasion, and it’s easy to hear why. With the catchy smash single “Do Wah Diddy Diddy” alongside powerful readings of classics by Bo Diddley, Muddy Waters, Howlin’ Wolf and Ike and Tina Turner, it’s a transcendent meeting of pop infectiousness and R&B grit that sets the stage for the musical achievements that the band would soon begin to rack up. Although many of the British Invasion’s most prominent bands were comprised of inexperienced rockers learning their craft as they went along, Manfred Mann was something different. The versatile British quintet, which took its collective name from that of its South African-born keyboardist, was comprised of four seasoned musicians with a solid grounding in jazz and blues, plus a charismatic frontman who was also one of England’s finest blue-eyed soul singers. Together, the five members of Manfred Mann—or the Manfreds, as their fans called them—turned their diverse talents towards rock ’n’ roll, and came up with a series of albums and singles that are among the catchiest and most enduring of the period.
Track Titles
1. Do Wah Diddy Diddy
2. Don’t Ask Me What I Say
3. Sack O’ Woe
4. What You Gonna Do?
5. I’m Your Hoochie Coochie Man
6. Smokestack Lightning
7. Got My Mojo Working
8. It’s Gonna Work Out Fine
9. Down The Road Apiece
10. Untie Me
11. Bring It To Jerome
12. Without You