Product Catalog :: PRODUCT DETAILS

Fun Fun Fun

   Artist: The Catalinas
Label: Sundazed
Orig. Released: 2010
Catalog No.: LPSUND5329
Condition: Sealed-Reissue
Format: LP (1.3)

Retail Price: $ 19.98 (1 available)
add to cart

The first wave of the surf music explosion spawned countless short-lived bands and one-shot studio projects. Many of those projects were quickly forgotten, but a handful have continued to inspire hushed reverence among surf aficionados. The latter category includes the Catalinas' lone album, originally released in 1964 and out of print for more than four decades. An all-star studio supergroup featuring legendary producer Terry Melcher, future Beach Boy Bruce Johnston and fabled Wrecking Crew members Hal Blaine, Jerry Cole, Steve Douglas, Leon Russell, Billy Strange and Tommy Tedesco, the Catalinas lived up to their impressive pedigree. In addition to rarely-heard tunes penned by Bobby Darin and a pre-Byrds Roger McGuinn, the album features potent versions of such surf and hot rod classics as "Surfin' U.S.A.," "Wipe Out," "Banzai Washout," "I Get Around" and "Summer Means Fun." Long a rare collector's item, Fun Fun Fun is now back in its original vinyl format, remastered from the original analog tapes and pressed on high-definition vinyl, with complete original cover art.
Track Titles
1. Surfin' U.S.A.
2. Beach Ball
3. Surfer Boy
4. Wipe Out
5. Beach Walkin'
6. Banzai Washout
7. Hot Rod U.S.A.
8. Queen of the Hot Rods
9. I Get Around
10. Boss Barracuda
11. Run Little Rabbit
12. Summer Means Fun


Liner Notes
Customers who bought this item also bought...
The Hollies - Beat Group! (US MONO Edition, 180 Gram Vinyl)
Captain Beefheart and His Magic Band - It Comes to You in a Plain Brown Wrapper (2 LP Set)
Gary Usher - Barefoot Adventure: The 4 Star Sessions 2-LPs (CLEAR GOLD Colored Vinyl)
Davie Allan & The Arrows - Devil's Rumble (Anthology '64-'68)
Al Casey - Surfin' Hootenanny (Limited Edition CLEAR RED Colored Vinyl)
The Hollies - Bus Stop (US MONO Edition, 180 Gram Vinyl)
Sir Douglas Quintet - The Sir Douglas Quintet Is Back!
Electric Prunes - The Electric Prunes (I Had Too Much To Dream Last Night)
James Brown - Revolution Of The Mind (2 LPs x 180 gram)
James Brown - Black Caesar Original Soundtrack