Product Catalog :: PRODUCT DETAILS

South Bay Surf: Anthology 1963-1964 (2 LP Set)

   Artist: Thom Starr & the Galaxies
Label: Sundazed
Orig. Released:
Catalog No.: LPSUND5246
Condition: Sealed-Reissue
Format: LP

Retail Price: $ 19.98 (2 available)
add to cart

Thom Starr was one of the most talented of surf music's first generation of guitar heroes. A legend on the original South Bay scene where the surf genre was created and nurtured, Starr wowed live crowds with his band the Galaxies, and made a handful of recordings that are revered by multiple generations of surf guitar devotees. Starr's vintage work has been impossible to find, with most of his recordings remaining completely unreleased and with his few official releases long out of print. South Bay Surf:"ˆAnthology 1963---1964 redresses that situation by making this under-the-radar guitar god's output accessible to the public in album form for the first time ever. This amazing Sundazed collection has been mastered from the original analog sources and features rare photos and a detailed history by surf music authority John Blair. A treasure trove of reverb-filled surf guitar!
Track Titles
The unissued Sons of the Beach album--1963
1. Launching Pad
2. Strange Fever I (Just Before Dawn)
3. No. 1 Son
4. The Big Ding
5. Woodie Welcome Wagon Part 1
6. Cherry Wipe Out
7. Surfer's Bubble
8. Woodie Welcome Wagon Part 2
9. Jellyfish Kiss
10. Sand Blast
Unissued tracks--1963
11. Stomp Crazy
12. Heatwave
13. Shake & Stomp I
Unissued tracks--1964
14. Mr. Moto*
15. Enchanted Island
16. Bedlam
17. Strange Fever II
18. Vamonos
19. Squad Car
20. Shake & Stomp II
21. Renegade
22. The Nomad
*All tracks previously unissued except "Mr. Moto."


Liner Notes