Product Catalog :: PRODUCT DETAILS

Singles '64-68 (2-LP Colored Vinyl Set)

   Artist: Pretty Things
Label: Sundazed
Orig. Released: '64-'68
Catalog No.: LPSUND5234C
Condition: Sealed-Reissue
Format: LP (2)

Retail Price: $ 18.98 (1 available)
add to cart

The Pretty Things never made it to America in the 1960s. While their contemporaries were touring the States, building brand recognition and laying the foundation for longterm careers in the business, the Pretty Things were toiling in clubs and concert halls across Europe, or -- more bizarrely -- attempting to conquer New Zealand (they succeeded only in outraging it). Whether through bad judgment, bad timing or simple bad luck that vital mid-60s U.S. tour never happened. But somehow word still got around, and for those in the know the Pretty Things became a secret touchstone, their image and their music signifying the wildest and most exciting extremes of the English sound. Despite their low profile, the Pretty Things had an impact on countless American garage bands from the Seeds to MC5. The blinding, sometimes visceral power of the Pretty Things can be heard on their early singles, an incredible four-year run that saw them evolving from raw-edged R&B rave-ups ("Rosalyn," "Don't Bring Me Down"), through hard riffing Mod-flavored rock ("Midnight to Six Man," "Come See Me"), melodic pop experiments ("Children," "My Time"), sometimes bending against their will to commercial pressures: ("Progress"), to daring psychedelic pioneers ("Defecting Grey," "Talkin' About the Good Times"). Few groups mastered so many genres so convincingly, nor with as much passion, conviction and bold creativity. They were, are, and continue to be THE
Track Titles
1. Rosalyn
2. Big Boss Man
3. Don't Bring Me Down
4. We'll Be Together
5. Get Yourself Home
6. Honey, I Need
7. I Can Never Say
8. Judgement Day
9. Cry to Me
10. Get a Buzz
11. Midnight to Six Man
12. Can't Stand the Pain
13. ₤. s. d.
14. Come See Me
15. Progress
16. A House In the Country
17. Me Needing You
18. Buzz the Jerk
19. Children
20. My Time
21. Defecting Grey
22. Mr. Evasion
23. Talkin' About the Good Times
24. Walking Through My Dreams


Customers who bought this item also bought...
Demon Fuzz - Afreaka!
Jeff Beck - Beck-Ola (UK Stereo Edition)
Jeff Beck - Truth (UK Mono Edition LP)
Sylvester - Mighty Real Greatest Dance Hits (2LPs on Pink Colored Vinyl)
Sufjan Stevens - Greetings From Michigan: The Great Lake State (2 LPs)
Mott The Hoople - Live in Sweden 1971
The Shadows of Knight - Gloria!
The Meters - Cissy Strut (180 gram Colored vinyl)
Jimmy Smith - Back at the Chicken Shack